Council Committees

The Oklahoma Rehabilitation Council is served by actively working committees. Descriptions of the four committees follow with links to their work products, meetings, and minutes.

Executive Committee

Comprised of the SRC Chair, Vice-Chair, and 3 members-at-large. The Executive Committee also consists of the Associate Director and Director of Sponsored Programs of the OSU, Department of Wellness, who oversees the contractual administration of the ORC. Ensures that committees are assigned to meet the requirements of Section 105 of the Rehab Act with regard to the following activities:

  • Public Hearings
  • State Plan
  • Comprehensive Needs Assessment
  • Customer Satisfaction
  • Annual Report


Shelley Gladden, Council Chair, ABLE Tech & P&P Committee Chair

  • Jeff Newton,
    Vice-Chair, OKCPS – P&L Committee
  • Sharon Harrison,
    Member at Large, Harrison Consulting – Employment Committee
  • Jeff Newton,
    Member-at-Large, OKCPS – P&L Committee
  • Lori Chestnut,
    Member at Large, OSDE – Transition Committee
  • Shelly Rentz,
    Member at Large – Central Tech
  • Melinda Fruendt,
    DRS Executive Director
  • Mark Kinnison,
    VR Division Administrator
  • Tracy Brigham, SBVI Division Administrator

Transition Committee

Active participation on the Oklahoma Transition Council. Support DRS with statewide efforts to enhance transition activities and services for youth in secondary settings to increase successful employment outcomes.


Lori Chestnut, Chair

  • Angela Jaworski
  • Julie Lackey
  • Shelly Rentz
  • Steve Shepelwitch
  • Amy Synar
  • Tiffany Davis, Renee Sansom and Barrett Waltz – DRS Liaison

Employment Committee

With an increased emphasis on employment under the new Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), this committee will work together to strengthen coordination with employment and training services for individuals with disabilities who are job seekers.


Sharon Harrison, Chair

  • Fatos Floyd
  • Scott Mullins
  • Yasmin Avila – DRS Liaison

Policy and Legislative Committee

Activities include, but are not limited to, advocacy and education, policy and State Plan review, State Plan Public Hearings, and Success Stories. Also, responsible for the reviewing/monitoring of pending and current disability-related legislation, particularly with respect to impact on funding; suggest/develop legislation as needed. Active participation on the DRS Policy Re-engineering Committee. Support DRS with both national and state efforts to enhance advocacy activities and services for VR/VS clientele.


Jeff Newton, Chair

  • Tim Yeahquo
  • William Ginn
  • Tina Calloway, Jennifer Hardin and Tonya Garman – DRS Liaison

Program and Planning Committee

Review, analyze, and advise DSU on the standards and indicators as laid out by Section 106 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended. Active participation in the DRS State Plan Meetings. Active participation in the DRS Comprehensive Needs Assessment development initiative. Analyze the trends of the Customer Satisfaction Survey.


Shelley Gladden, Chair

  • Leslie Bell
  • Jerod Gleason
  • Tiffany Davis and Stephanie Roe – DRS Liaison