Chelsea

The Story:

Transition Case
Chelsea has Type 1 Diabetes; she is 28 years old now but she started getting DRS Services when she was 18 and a freshman in College. 

She found out about DRS through some friends at Diabetes Camp, they had been getting services for a while and they told her she could probably qualify for services as well. She applied and was eligible. 

She was attending Oklahoma University (OU) at the time but one of her family members offered to help her with housing at Oklahoma State University (OSU) in Stillwater and she decided to move. She graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Applied Sociology and she specialized in Crime and Deviance. After that, she did an internship with a Wilderness Survival Program but it was very difficult for her because she has Vitiligo and she cannot be exposed to sunlight.  

Later, she realized that research was a passion of hers and she went on to get a Master’s Degree in Forensic Psychology. During this time, she had to learn how to cope with her Diabetes and the added stress from Graduate School had an impact on her health.  

Now, for the past four years, she has been working on her PhD. in the Sociology Program at OSU, and she is specializing in in Crime and Deviance and Social Psychology; she will be graduating in December of 2018. 

Chelsea wants to join the OSU Forensics Department as they are just starting to set up their PhD. Department and teach courses. 

Counselor:

Simonne Jones

Disability:

Diabetes

Services:

Counseling and Guidance, Information and Referrals, College Assistance, Tuition and Books, Glasses, Diabetic Education, Transition program, Assistive Technology services and devices.